BulgingButtons

Not bad for a fat girl

Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice

10 Comments

You’ve been kidnapped and given a choice: would you rather be stranded on an island, dropped into an unknown forest, or locked in a strange building?

Oh no! I’ve been kidnapped by a most unusual kidnapper. My kidnapper is giving me options. Where would I like to be delivered? This bizarre kidnapper is going to take me to said place and leave me, presumably to my own devices. Where, oh where, shall I go?

 

Option One: Island

gilligans-islandWell, this depends a great deal upon the island, doesn’t it? If it’s Oahu or Hawai’i, then yes, please.  But let’s assume they mean a deserted island. I’m thinking along the lines of Gilligan’s Island or Robinson Crusoe or the Swiss Family Robinson. That might not be so bad, at least for a while, but I think I  would miss my family and I’m not much for a) boat building, or b) sailing away on a raft. Besides, they all had company, I’m assuming I wouldn’t, of if I did it would be more along the lines of Lord of the Flies. Jeez, in that case I hope I would be alone. Now I’m thinking Castaway and frankly, I don’t think I have it in me to live on bugs.

 

Option Two: Unknown Forest

20131004050534!Katniss_EverdeenThis one might be a bit better. After all, presumably the forest is connected to some form of civilization somewhere, right? I could make a lean to and snare rabbits. I read My Side of the Mountain. Young Sam did it, so can I. I read Hatchet too, and the whole Hunger Games trilogy. People survive in the forest all the time, right? Or do they? And what about Big Foot? Or bears? Or worse? I saw The Blair Witch Project. And I wouldn’t even have a tent. Or a map. Or a sleeping bag. Ok, so maybe the woods aren’t the best choice either.

 

Option Three: Locked in a Strange Building

How locked are we talking? And what kind of building? Does it have working plumbing? Because that’s important to me. How about some sort of meal delivery system? At least out in the woods or on the island I assume there would be something to eat. In this locked building I’m not so sure. The whole food and water thing is really important to me. Even more important than the bathroom, and that’s saying a lot.

Ok, Mr. Kidnapper (not to be sexist, but that’s what I imagine in this scenario… a woman might have thought it out a bit better, just saying), I’m ready to pick. The building is out, too many variables. The island, while it might be great for a short vacation, is out too. Too far from civilization. So that leaves the forest. Can I least pack a sleeping bag and some granola bars? And if you don’t mind, would you please let my family and the police know where I am? Thanks bunches.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sunset | Vintage Photography
  2. Daily Prompt: Choice « Vicariously Poetic
  3. The Crossroad | Kate Murray
  4. Choice of lusciousness: Daily Prompt – photo | alienorajt
  5. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Basically Beyond Basic
  6. Which Way? To the left, to the right, or any way you want | The Photo Faith Challenge
  7. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  8. Captive’s Choice | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  9. Just have to time myself to match the flickering fluorescence… | thoughtsofrkh
  10. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | A Room of One’s Own
  11. DP Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Sabethville
  12. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice » My Life, My Way, My Words
  13. Miguel Learns To Like Himself (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  14. Captive | Active Army Wife
  15. Captive’s Choice: Strange Building | Dean’z Worldz
  16. daily prompt: captive’s choice | aimanss…
  17. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  18. Let’s go Katniss-style | Wanderlein
  19. An excuse for a vacation | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  20. Kidnapped | dandelionsinwind
  21. Captive’s Choice | Flowers and Breezes
  22. Captive’s Choice | A mom’s blog
  23. Long My Imprisoned Spirit Lay, Fast Bound in Sin and Nature’s Night . . . | meanderedwanderings
  24. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Moments Thru Lens
  26. Pagpili | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  27. A holistic View of Myself | A Teacher’s Blog
  28. Cold | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  29. “I’d rather be stuck in Disneyland” | I am Lynn
  30. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Wordz on a Page
  31. Choice, Which Way Would You Go | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  32. Captive In The Beast’s Forest | moonstonemaiden
  33. A Rock, No, Wait, an Island/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  34. How a Dying Mall Taught Me Survival Skills
  35. Escape | My Play Nook
  36. Taken | LOQUACITÉ
  37. I’ll Take the Island Please | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  38. Choose Your Captivity | Edward Hotspur
  39. Spoilt for Choices | LenzExperiments
  40. Captive’s Choice | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  41. Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | The Road Less Travelled By
  42. MY KIDNAPPING CONTRACT. | ArtFreak
  43. Captive’s Choice | smarshmellow
  44. Choice | The Nameless One
  45. S. Thomas Summers | The Cold, Dark Waits
  46. Captive’s Choice | Geek Ergo Sum

Author: BulgingButtons

I'm a middle aged woman doing the things that middle aged women do and trying not to beat myself up. I'm living the life I choose with the man I love, the grown up son who impresses me all the time, and the most adorable pup ever rescued from the euthanasia list. We live in the heat of the Southwest, where I regularly sweat through my Lane Bryant bras.

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | The Wandering Poet

  2. Interesting. I’ve thought about doing a Castaway post to see if I’d be able to do the same things as Tom Hanks. I then thought again as the post would only have one word -NO. Haha.

  3. Pingback: Captive’s choice | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: “I’d rather be stuck in Disneyland” | I am Lynn

  5. Pingback: Miguel Learns To Like Himself (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  6. Interesting! I hope I get kidnapped by such a kidnapper. I would be a horrible survivalist in the woods if I didn’t have any supplies. I’d opt for the building… I feel like I could break out of just about anything, provided it was abandoned and full of random things. Maybe I could Count of Monte Cristo myself out through a tunnel. 7 years later.

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Captive’s Choice | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Choice | Words 'n Pics...

Leave a comment