BulgingButtons

Not bad for a fat girl

Daily Prompt: Bookworms

13 Comments

Grab the nearest book. Open it and go to the tenth word. Do a Google Image Search of the word. Write about what the image brings to mind.

Ok, I confess, I cheated. My tenth word was “of” so I took the eleventh. Fabric. Glorious, beautiful, delicious fabric. It’s not all that surprising since my computer shares space with my sewing room. A quick reach to the right, and I pulled my ancient Quilter’s Complete Guide by Fons and Porter off the shelf. How lucky to find fabric in the first sentence, after all, it’s one of my favorite things!

5475051736_2a2d7109fe_zThe trick was not to get too lost in the google images. There were bazillions of them. Stacks of fabric, piles of fabric, bolts of fabric. Of course the bright cottons drew me right away. I love the bold colors and eye catching designs. These are the fabrics favored by modern quilters, often in combination with neutrals. Their work also features solids of all shades. I still shy away from solids myself, but the work those quilters do is amazing.

The modern quilt movement has done wonderful things for the world of quilting, infusing it with new life and energy. I love that modern quilters aren’t afraid to make mistakes or do things their own way. The quilt police have long ago been drummed out of their world.

More traditional quilters are using those gorgeous new fabrics too, in innovative and stunning ways. I subscribe to several quilting publications, and I’m always inspired by the creativity of other quilters, regardless of their niche in the large and inclusive quilting world.

Currently I consider myself a lazy quilter, or at least an easy quilter. I don’t quilt often anymore, and when I do I usually choose simple designs that showcase the fabrics. I’ve cut back considerably on my fabric shopping for several reasons, none of which include not LOVING all the new fabric trends.

1. cost – quality quilting cottons are quite pricey

2. space – with my fiancé living with us, our house is pretty full

3. guilt – there is a lot of fabric in this house that has been here a long time

I need to get my current project wrapped up and sent on it’s way, then finish up some UFO’s (unfinished objects, for the uninitiated). Not only would I feel better about using what I have, but I would be ticking off some items on my 47 for 47 challenge. Maybe then I could add some luscious new fabrics to my collection.

Author: BulgingButtons

I'm a middle aged woman doing the things that middle aged women do and trying not to beat myself up. I'm living the life I choose with the man I love, the grown up son who impresses me all the time, and the most adorable pup ever rescued from the euthanasia list. We live in the heat of the Southwest, where I regularly sweat through my Lane Bryant bras.

13 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Bookworms

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Bookworms | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. What beautiful fabrics; I love this! Alienora

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Bookworms | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: Being a Teacher | A mom's blog

  5. Love love love great fabric. I craft with fabric and there are so many different looks and designs to fall in love with. Fabric is my crafting “handbag or shoe” lol It can become very addicting

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Bookworms | MythRider

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Bookworms: Historian | MythRider

  8. Pingback: Hushed | Life is great

  9. Pingback: Am I really much of a bookworm anymore? | Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Bookworms | Joe's Musings

  11. Pingback: Spoiler Alert: You Die in the End | Jotting Down Life

  12. Great blog post! thanks for making me like I’m not the only one!

Leave a comment